As a special end to the 2nd day of the conference a canal tour was organised, followed by a unique dinner in the Saint Olof’s Chapel and a historic night watch.
The Saint Olof's Chapel – the second oldest religious building in Amsterdam – was built between 1440 and 1450. Some say it was built in honour of Saint Odulphus – the patron saint of the dykes – since it is located on the Zeedijk, which translates as 'sea dyke' in English. According to others, the chapel was named after the Norwegian King Olof because of the close trade relations Amsterdam had with Norway at that time. The enlargement of the Gothic style chapel in 1644 resulted in a three-aisled church arrangement, with an irregular plan. Following the last service – which was held in the chapel in 1912 – the building has had many diverse uses.